Travelers

In September of 2014 I made an acquaintance who had quite an impact on me. Soon after we met I wrote this piece. As an amendment, I would say that now I do long to put down roots and I’ll be ready to do so when the time is right.

Her past was similar to mine in so many ways:

London and Thailand in college.

Now New York, Colorado and Germany.

We lamented about our lack of roots, but her face lit up,when she spoke about her travels.

We chose this life of experiences, moments, tastes and senses.

Art classes – no – I’ll never be in one place for 6 weeks.

Friends, only the understanding, flexible kind.

Our husbands, understand our traveling souls and don’t hold us back.

Sometimes we want to change, set roots, but for 20 years the traveling way is all we have known.

We know this will satisfy us and roots are a frightening unknown.

Leave a Reply

