This year I had a crazy stint of traveling which took me to 10 countries in 10 weeks! As I described in my blog post, I hadn’t quite put together in my head the magnitude of my travel schedule but I knew I’d be on the road a while and one of the first things I considered before I began my traveling was how I would maintain my new weight on the road. When I look back, I basically instituted a few rules which I plan to continue to use in the future. My life  and work often has me traveling about 30 to 50% of the time so it’s not an option to just take a break from working out or lax too much on my eating when I travel. I could, but I’d lose my gains for sure! So, here are my road rules:

Road Rule #1. Pack workout clothes and good tennis shoes.

When I pack up for a trip I always put a pair of tennis shoes – each one wrapped individually in a plastic grocery bag – at the bottom of my bag (or I wear them on my feet depending on how and where I’m traveling). I check the forecast and then pack either running shorts, tights and tank tops or long-sleeve shirts. If the weather is uncertain I’ll bring a sock hat or ear warmers and running gloves. I also bring a lightweight rain jacket which can be used for workout or just for a cool evening out. This way I’m ready for any weather conditions. 

Road Rule #2. Pack a way to carry your ID.

Now that I live in Europe I have this über cool Marmut fanny pack. And I totally rock that fanny pack when I travel. It’s a great place to throw my phone, ID and some cash when I’m running in a new location. I also have a road ID stuff stash that attaches to my tennis shoes which is just large enough to hold my ID, some cash and a hotel room key.

Road Rule #3. Pack a swimming suit. 

You never know when you’ll find a pool for swimming laps or a beach! Trust me, you will only regret it is you don’t pack the suit!

So, as you can see the first 3 rules ensure that its easy for me to burn calories when I travel. I find that the toughest thing about traveling is that it can be difficult to influence my food options. It’s also a wonderful thing – you have the chance to try new foods! The flip side of this is it can be hard to estimate calories and ensure you’re consuming within your target range. By working out 30 to 60 minutes a day I get an endorphin rush, often get to see some great scenery (if it’s a good place for running outside) and give myself a cushion of 300 to 500 calories each day. I have a habit of getting up early to workout because otherwise it’s difficult on the road due to evening obligations that often end late at night. If I start the day with a workout I’m more relaxed and I can have a glass of wine without worrying about it going to my waistline.

Road Rule #4. The rule of 3.

When you eat there’s a simple trick to apply to 80% of meals to avoid going way over on calories. This is particularly important for dinners. Think of your meal in sections: appetizer, main course, desert. You should only eat one of those, maybe two at the most. I’ve read that bread can also be considered another course, and I actually believe this is true especially if there’s a bread basket and butter. Alcohol is an entire additional category, especially if it’s a long meal. Remember that a glass of beer or wine can be 200+ calories and that’s basically the same as your average bread roll with butter. So, I try to apply the rule of three to say I’ll have no more than 3 of these elements I listed above. 

Here’s a couple of examples:
Bread, main course (lean meat dish or maybe fish if I can get it, or a good salad with protein), desert.

Or, if I want to have that combo with wine or a beer I don’t eat desert.

Another option is to skip the bread completely. Sometimes this is perfectly rewarding for me, it depends on if the bread looks awesome! Then I’ll go for it! Life is short!

Road Rule #5: eat a smart breakfast. 

Hotels often offer some super high calorie breakfast options which you’d rarely consider on a weekday at home – Belgian waffles with cream anyone? Or maybe a few slabs of bacon to go with the sausage and eggs. So, my strategy for breakfast is to try to eat as close as possible to my home routine. For me this is yogurt with granola (perhaps honey as a sweetener – a great way to protect against local allergens) and a piece of fruit. It satisfies and provides good balance. As a bonus, I recently read that eating local yogurt can help you adjust your gut flora to the local foods and leads to less illness when traveling. I don’t know if it works, but it makes sense, so I stick with it.

Road Rule #6: monitor by packing a pair of skinny jeans or using a scale in the gym.

Just to make sure I’m not getting off track, I like to being at least one piece of clothing that is a bit snug on the waist so I can see if it starts to get uncomfortable. Another option is to weigh myself the first day of a trip on a scale in the hotel and then check it every once in a while to see if I’ve shifted. It’s easy to start to creep up on the road and I’d say it’s pretty normal, but for me it’s a cost to benefit thing. If the food is amazing, then I’ll let it happen. But if it’s stress eating or just too many late night big meals I like to exert a little self control.

Road Rule #7: break your habit of clearing your plate

This is a really, really tough one for me. I hate to waste food, but I’ve also discovered that sometimes portions are just way too big. So, if I order a cut of meat that is just more than I can eat, then I’ve finally given myself permission to not eat all of it. But I also try really hard to order smart, healthy, whole foods: lean meats, veggies, nutrition dense carbs. This works pretty well for me and I can clear my whole plate with no hesitation.

I do believe that’s quite enough rules. These tricks keep me sane on the road and help me maintain my goals. Hope they’re helpful for you. 

What are your trick?

Leave a Reply

