Yesterday, 90 days after I started, I finished 30 days of yoga with Adriene on amazon prime. What a glorious yoga series. I discovered it as 2020 came to a close and kept at it (somewhat frequently, as you can tell from the progress) in the morning before opening my laptop in my home office.

Being stuck at home, I sorely missed my weekly yoga practice. One day I found the 30 day series on prime and thought, let’s give it a shot. I was amazed at how calm I felt on the days I practiced. I also discovered many friends and acquaintances had discovered the series online.

Well, yesterday I fired up Day 30: Be You. After a nice intro and congratulations on making it to Day 30, the music started and the instructor began moving through her flow. She said no words. I was confused. Was the audio broken? No, I could hear music. How could I move through my flow without her instructions?

Exasperated, I paused the show, walked the few steps to the kitchen and railed at my poor husband. With a raised voice I complained about how I would not be able to complete the 30 day yoga. She wasn’t instructing us and it was difficult to constantly look at the screen to see what pose she’d moved to next. My husband suggested I calm down (good advice) and do episode 29. But, I wanted to complete the series!

I returned to my mat, rewound the episode and listened to the instructions. You have completed the course, Adriene remarked, now you know what to do. Breathe and follow your flow.

Ok, I can do this, I thought. I have been practicing yoga for more than 20 years. Again, I started the movements, focused on my breathing. Sure enough, the flows came naturally, I knew what to do. The music filled my ears and my breathe came in deep, restorative waves.

We ended in corpse pose, with my good mood completely restored. I realized I had learned a lesson that Friday morning. Stop waiting for the instructions and trust myself to know how to follow the flow. In yoga, in life, in work, in play, in the kitchen, in the garden. I go forth with the confidence to Be Me.

Thank you Adriene. Namaste

Photo credit: https://yogawithadriene.com/

Leave a comment